VERIFIED BRAND POLICY
Samsung software support: models, dates and policy
For Galaxy flagship phones, Samsung promises seven generations of OS upgrades and seven years of security updates for the Galaxy S24 generation and later flagship families. Selected earlier flagships receive four OS generations and five years of security updates.
Browse this brand by device category
Samsung notes that timing can vary by model, carrier and market. Phone policies do not determine Chromebook automatic-update dates or every Galaxy tablet's commitment. Verify the exact device category and regional variant before relying on a date.
How many years of updates does each Galaxy get?
Samsung's update promise depends on the model and generation. An A-series or M-series phone does not automatically inherit an S-series flagship policy. The examples below show the commitments actually recorded for each model.
| Series | Reviewed example | OS-upgrade commitment | Security-support evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Galaxy S | Galaxy S25 EdgeSM-S937B · International Samsung release channel | OS-upgrade generation count not documented: Samsung's reviewed official announcements for this model do not state one, so none is inferred. Security support remains a separate duration. | May 2032Recorded horizon — check source · Grade UOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy S | Galaxy S25SM-S931B · International Samsung release channel | Samsung commits this eligible model or series to 7 generations of Android OS upgrades. Security support remains a separate duration; no exact OS calendar end date is inferred. | Feb 2032Policy-derived horizon · Grade BOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy Z | Galaxy Z Flip7SM-F766B · International Samsung release channel | Samsung promises seven generations of OS upgrades for Galaxy Z Flip7. This is the original total commitment, not seven upgrades remaining; no final OS calendar date is inferred. | Jul 2032Estimate · Grade BOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy Z | Galaxy Z Fold7SM-F966B · International Samsung release channel | Samsung promises seven generations of OS upgrades for Galaxy Z Fold7. This is the original total commitment, not seven upgrades remaining; no final OS calendar date is inferred. | Jul 2032Estimate · Grade BOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy A | Galaxy A26 5GSM-A266B · International Samsung release channel | Samsung commits this eligible model or series to 6 generations of Android OS upgrades. Security support remains a separate duration; no exact OS calendar end date is inferred. | Mar 2031Policy-derived horizon · Grade BOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy A | Galaxy A36 5GSM-A366B · International Samsung release channel | Samsung commits this eligible model or series to 6 generations of Android OS upgrades. Security support remains a separate duration; no exact OS calendar end date is inferred. | Mar 31, 2031Recorded horizon — check source · Grade AOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy M | Galaxy M04Galaxy M04 · Samsung security-update scope list (market not specified) | Not stated in the security-scope list; an OS-upgrade count or final major release is not inferred. | Not documentedRecorded horizon — check source · Grade AOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy M | Galaxy M05Galaxy M05 · Samsung security-update scope list (market not specified) | Not stated in the security-scope list; an OS-upgrade count or final major release is not inferred. | Not documentedRecorded horizon — check source · Grade AOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy Tab | Galaxy Tab S11SM-X730 · International Wi-Fi SM-X730 release channel | 7 generations of Android OS upgrades | Sep 4, 2032Policy-derived horizon · Grade BOfficial source ↗ |
| Galaxy Tab | Galaxy Tab S11 UltraSM-X930 · International Wi-Fi SM-X930 release channel | 7 generations of Android OS upgrades | Sep 4, 2032Policy-derived horizon · Grade BOfficial source ↗ |
Security updates, Android version upgrades and patch frequency are separate facts. A listed update frequency can change, and it does not by itself establish an end date.
Check your Samsung firmware build → · Understand update frequency →
Find Samsung support states
This is the existing Samsung model list, grouped by the evidence recorded for each device. A policy horizon is not a confirmed final update; Chromebook Auto Update Expiration dates are separate from Galaxy Android policies.
Galaxy A55 5G update policy · Galaxy S21 FE support and regional updates · Galaxy S24 FE support and regional updates
Within a recorded window
Dated windows more than 12 months away. Policy estimates remain estimates; a window does not verify the patch installed on your phone.
Horizon within 12 months
Check these records first when planning ahead. Manufacturer-stated dates, calculated horizons and minimum periods keep their separate labels.
Recorded window passed
A passed policy estimate or minimum is not a confirmed final patch. Open the exact model record and check current manufacturer evidence.
No dated end verified
A model may have a published update schedule without a dated endpoint. Missing or uncertain dates are not evidence that support has ended.
Optional shopping links
Shopping within this brand?
Start with the exact model and regional support evidence before browsing offers.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Paid links: we may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. They do not change our support dates, evidence grades or comparisons. Check the exact model, region, seller, condition, stock and price on Amazon before buying.
Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 3 360
Security support recorded to June 2035
- Model
- Samsung Galaxy Chromebook 3 360
- Record scope
- Worldwide ChromeOS Auto Update policy
- Evidence grade
- A
Samsung Galaxy Tab S11
Security support expected to September 4, 2032
- Model
- SM-X730
- Record scope
- International Wi-Fi SM-X730 release channel
- Evidence grade
- B
Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra
Security support expected to September 4, 2032
- Model
- SM-X930
- Record scope
- International Wi-Fi SM-X930 release channel
- Evidence grade
- B
Selected from this page’s catalog by recorded security-support date. Dates may cover a specific region or model; this is not a product review or a guarantee of future updates.
Official sources used
Samsung Newsroom · checked Sep 2026
Samsung Electronics · checked Sep 2026
Samsung UK · checked Sep 2026
Samsung Electronics · checked Sep 2026
Samsung Newsroom · checked Sep 2026
Samsung Newsroom · checked Sep 2026
Samsung Electronics · checked Sep 2026
Samsung Electronics · checked Sep 2026
Common questions
Is the support end date guaranteed?
It reflects the cited policy and review date. Manufacturers can extend support, and rollout timing may vary by region, carrier and exact model.
Does a supported phone have no security risk?
No. A published update window means fixes are still expected; it does not guarantee that every vulnerability has already been fixed.
Why is a date labelled policy-derived?
The manufacturer published a duration, such as seven years, and DevLifeCheck calculated the displayed month from the documented availability date.
Samsung software update lists
Check major-version eligibility separately from security-support dates. Every list distinguishes official announcements, schedules, beta and policy expectations.