APPLE · A2102
iPhone XS Max update support and latest iOS
Phone · Japan record · Release date not documented
Family: iPhone
Get record-change alerts →IPHONE UPDATE ANSWERS
How long will iPhone XS Max receive updates?
Apple's shipped releases answer what is available now. A minimum commitment and a final support cutoff answer different questions.
- Latest documented compatible release
- iOS 18.7.10
- Documented release date
- 2026-08-17
- Final security-update date
- Not announced in reviewed evidence
- Next step
- Settings → General → Software Update
What changed from the previous captured version?
- iOS version
- 18.7.9 → 18.7.10
- Publication date
- 2026-05-11 → 2026-08-17
Version and publication evidence do not establish which bugs or vulnerabilities changed. Read Apple's release-specific notes.
Latest Apple release notice ↗Regional minimum support commitments
| Scope | Minimum and start event | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
| UK | Exact matching declaration not verified | A minimum, not the final update date. A past minimum does not mean updates ended. |
| EU | Exact product-sheet commitment not verified | The start date is not verified; no calendar cutoff is calculated. |
| Other regions and A-numbers | No final date verified | UK/EU model commitments are not automatically applied worldwide. |
Repair, battery and hardware service
An exact EU repairability score has not been verified for this model; we do not substitute a nearby model’s score.
Apple's general parts/service policy counts from when Apple last distributed the model for sale. It is separate from iOS updates; the required model-specific end-of-sale date is not verified here.
Apple hardware service policy ↗Release source last checked: 2026-09-12 03:15:14 UTC. Read Apple’s release notice for security details.
Partially supported
iPhone XS Max has a documented compatible release: iOS 18.7.10, published 2026-08-17. A legacy iOS release does not establish a final future security-support date.
- Final security-update date
- Not announced in reviewed evidence
- Final major-iOS update date
- Final major-iOS update date not announced in the reviewed evidence.
- Evidence
- A · Official release and identity evidence
- Reviewed
- Sep 2026
What this status means for iPhone XS Max
iPhone XS Max has a documented compatible release: iOS 18.7.10, published 2026-08-17. A legacy iOS release does not establish a final future security-support date.
Why iPhone XS Max is a separate lifecycle record
This page is bounded to models A2102, A1921, A2101, A2103, A2104 and the Japan evidence scope. Dates and repair facts are not transferred to a similarly named carrier, regional or hardware variant unless its identifiers are explicitly covered by the cited source.
No other published Apple record currently has this exact combination of recorded release and security-support horizon. The release-to-support interval is not calculated because one or both required dates are not documented.
No exact EPREL registration is approved for this record, so DevLifeCheck does not borrow an EU repairability score or battery result from a related model.
Support timeline
- End of sale
- Not documented · Not yet reviewed
- Cloud-service end
- Not documented · No reviewed date
“Not documented” means DevLifeCheck has no approved date for this field; version and model fields likewise have no approved value. A completed source review may confirm that the cited official lifecycle record does not publish that separate fact; it never authorizes copying or inferring another lifecycle date.
Identity and regional scope
- Marketed name
- iPhone XS Max
- Primary model identifier
- A2102
- Evidence scope
- Japan
This record is not a universal “global variant.” Match the model number, sales market and carrier before applying a date to your phone. A materially different variant must receive its own reviewed lifecycle evidence.
How the support date was determined
No final software-support date or minimum calendar horizon has been verified for this model.
- Evidence class
- A · Official release and identity evidence
- Date precision
- Final support date unknown; minimum commitments shown separately
- Jurisdiction/scope
- Japan
Latest firmware or patch
iOS 18.7.10 · source checked Sep 2026. Availability may vary by carrier and region.
Recall and safety screening
DevLifeCheck monitors CPSC, Safety Gate, UK OPSS, Health Canada. A monitored feed is not itself a “no recall” finding; dated device-specific results are listed separately below.
No claim of “no recall” is made for this model. Check the linked regulator for your market using the marketed name and exact model identifier shown above.
Repairability and battery
No model-specific repairability score or official battery-service cutoff has been reviewed for this record yet. Check the manufacturer's regional repair channel before buying parts or assuming service availability.
Each card shows only the facts published by its cited source. Do not compare iFixit scores, manufacturer playback estimates and EU-label measurements as if they used the same test.
Update cadence
Cadence not documented — not inferred from end date.
Known limitations and conflicts
Policy dates can conflict with carrier schedules, regional product-security statements and the exact hardware variant. No additional conflict has been approved for this record; that means “not documented,” not “none exist.”
Repair or replace factors
Back up your iPhone and open Settings → General → Software Update. Compare the exact model and installed version with the official release history; a minimum support period is not a replacement deadline.
- Support horizon: No final update date is verified. Regional minimum commitments are shown separately and are not replacement deadlines.
- Evidence certainty: this is a official release and identity evidence record with final support date unknown; minimum commitments shown separately.
- Software visibility: iOS 18.7.10 is the latest version documented in this record; regional delivery still needs checking.
- Repair data: no comparable model-specific repairability record is approved yet, so repair cost and parts availability must be checked separately.
Compare iPhone support evidence
Apple minimum commitments cannot establish which phone will receive updates longest. Browse all iPhone records or use the compare tool to check exact models and release evidence.
Open comparison tool →Evidence
AApple Support · Exact A-number identity; region is separate from policy · Checked Sep 2026 · unknown precision
Apple Support · Release-specific eligible models · Checked Sep 2026 · unknown precision
Cite or embed this record
DevLifeCheck record for iPhone XS Max, reviewed Sep 2026, grade A: https://devlifecheck.com/devices/apple-iphone-xs-max
[](https://devlifecheck.com/devices/apple-iphone-xs-max)The badge always links to this canonical HTML record so scope, evidence and uncertainty remain inspectable.
Related guidance
Claim-to-evidence provenance
Every published assertion below is tied to its reviewed source capture. Hashes identify the immutable normalized capture; they are not a substitute for reading the official source.
Apple · Model-scoped Apple evidence · checked Sep 2026 · reviewed by Feroz Sheikh
supports capture · dc320a29fb2d…
iPhone XS Max; introduced 2018; A1921: Region not specified in Apple model listing; A2101: Region not specified in Apple model listing; A2102: Japan; A2103: Region not specified in Apple model listing; A2104: China mainland
Exact model, source scope and claim meaning are preserved.Captured Sep 2026 · parser reviewed-iphone-evidence-v2Apple · Model-scoped Apple evidence · checked Sep 2026 · reviewed by Feroz Sheikh
supports capture · 758335d85270…
A final major-iOS update date is not announced in the reviewed evidence. Public release compatibility is a separate fact.
Exact model, source scope and claim meaning are preserved.Captured Sep 2026 · parser reviewed-iphone-evidence-v2Apple · Release-specific eligible iPhone models · checked Sep 2026 · reviewed by Feroz Sheikh
supports capture · 6435ebf7726b…
iOS 18.7.10; published 2026-08-17; iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max, iPhone XR, iPad 7th generation
Captured Sep 2026 · parser apple-release-ledger-v1